CBN’s Naira Redesign Suit: Supreme Court Joins Nine Other States

The Supreme Court of Nigeria has joined the Attorney Generals of Katsina, Lagos, Cross Rivers, Ogun, Ondo, Ekiti, and Sokoto states, as co-plaintiffs in the suit challenging the Naira Redesign Policy of the Federal Government.

The Apex Court also joined Bayelsa and Edo states, as co-respondents in the matter.

The State Governments had through their Attorney Generals applied to be part of the suit.

Three Northern States namely Kaduna, Kogi and Zamfara, had in an ex-parte filed on February 3rd, prayed the Apex Court to halt the Central Bank of Nigeria, CBN’s Naira redesign policy.

Justice Inyang Okoro, leading a 7-man panel of Justices of the Supreme Court ordered the plaintiffs to amend the originating process to reflect the co-plaintiffs joined in the suit.

The Supreme Court had earlier in a ruling on February 6, granted an interim injunction, restraining the FG, CBN, and the commercial banks from implementing the February 10, deadline for the old N200, N500 and N1000 notes, as a legal tender.

The Court further held that the FG, CBN, and commercial banks must not continue with the deadline, pending the determination of a notice in respect of the issue on February 15.

Share the story
_For Advert Placement, Media Consultancy, Anniversary & Birthday Celebrations, kindly contact us:

@ [email protected] Or call: 09060006367

You are also free to call/send what's happening in your environment/area to us through the above contact._

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply